Facebook, like most social media apps, can be incredibly addictive. If you’ve got a lot of Facebook friends, the infinitely scrolling News Feed might steal hours of your day away.

If you’re having trouble managing your Facebook time, consider deactivating your account. Deactivating your Facebook account will log you out and hide your profile from others, but won’t delete any of your data. It’s a great way to take a break from Facebook without erasing your photos and posts.

It only takes a few moments to deactivate Facebook from the iPhone app. Here’s how to do it.

How to deactivate Facebook on your iPhone
Note that once you deactivate your Facebook account here, it’ll be deactivated on every device. If you’re just looking to get Facebook off of your iPhone, consider deleting the app instead.

1. Open the Facebook app on your iPhone and tap the three-line icon in the bottom-right corner.

2. Scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy, and then Settings.

3. You’ll now have to navigate through a few menus: Tap Personal and Account Information, then Account Ownership and Control, and then Deactivation and Deletion.

4. Facebook will give you the option to deactivate or delete your account. Tap Deactivate Account, and then Continue to Account Deactivation at the bottom of the screen.

5. Give the reason you’re deactivating your account and tap Continue, then enter your password.

You’ll be logged out of your account, and you should receive an email saying your account has been deactivated.

If you ever want to reactivate the account, you just have to open Facebook and log back in. Your profile will be restored right away.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*